SphinxSE with sphinx engine in MariaDB is slow

Hello,

New to manticore while I have been using SphinxSE since 2007.

I was able to install manticore on my server and it works great especially using mysql -h0 -P9306. http works too. So I have 2 indexes and one works slowly with sphinx engine in MariaDB and the other one doesn’t work. Not sure why. So first how can I find out why it’s so slow and why the second index is not working. The first index is a delta + main and the one not working is single.

Is there a better way than using the sphinx Engine in MariaDB. I read I could used FEDERATED engine instead but MariaDB says it’s deprecated.

Also when I search with mysql it works super fast so I am not sure what is the issue.

Thanks in advance. All help appreciated.

So first how can I find out why it’s so slow

I’d first check in the query log. If it doesn’t reveal anything, I’d switch on the debug mode (see LOG_LEVEL here) and would check the searchd log.

Thank you! I am not sure why but it worked. It went from a 7s search and the other I didn’t know was working was taking 13 minutes. That’s why I thought it didn’t work because it was the smaller index. Any how. I added this to my.cnf file:

log_warnings=9
log_error= /var/log/mysql/mariadb.err

And it worked right away after restart. Search are now ms as it should. Thanks for the help.

Is there a better alternative to sphinxSE or it should keep using it? I mean since it’s working I am not sure why I should. I am thinking more about future compatibility.

What would be the best way to find the total amount of records for a search? Don’t need all the records just the number.

Is there a better alternative to sphinxSE or it should keep using it? I mean since it’s working I am not sure why I should. I am thinking more about future compatibility.

Using the FEDERATED engine may be a better alternative since I believe mysql/mariadb will keep supporting it in future versions and I’m not sure about SphinxSE.